Focal Length: 400, F/Stop: 2.8, Exposure Time: 1/8,000

There is a set of Coyotes that reside in the Lamar Valley in Yellowstone National Park. I have photographed these two, many times in all seasons, in Lamar Valley. I have even photographed them as a family with pups. I believe the photographers that spend some time in Yellowstone and have been in the Lamar Valley enough…….. know this same set of coyotes that I am talking about ……….

Focal Length: 800, F/Stop: 5.6, Exposure Time: 1/1,250

This winter  … as I keep going into the park every day or every other day …… I kept seeing less and less of them as time went on. To the point of not seeing them for 3 weeks and even when I did see them it was so far away that I really couldn’t tell if it was them at all ……….

Focal Length: 800, F/Stop: 5.6, Exposure Time: 1/640

After a while, when I was not seeing them at all ….. I stopped looking for them and started to look for others  a long the Lamar valley road …. not even thinking that in the back of my head I knew they would show up sooner or later. But it really gave me a chance to look for other coyotes and fox …… Fox is the only animal that I really don’t have any  good shots of, so I decided that I was really going to keep an eye out for them and try to get some printable shots…..……..

Focal Length: 800, F/Stop: 5.6, Exposure Time: 1/640

I looked and looked for both coyotes and fox and seen many of both ….. but none of the shots that I was getting day after day amounted to any printable …….. As I decided to head home and turned the truck around, got down the road a bit ……there they were …. My favorite coyote family …… The female saw me and went behind a big bolder, but the male stood his ground only 20 yards away ……..and as he sat there on his warm dirt pile, I took full advantage of this shoot ….. It did not matter if I moved around him to be able to get different backgrounds …… this guy never moved …. like he was trying to pose  ….. and I think he was …. what do you think …………

