Focal Length: 800, F/Stop: 5.6, Exposure Time: 1/500

I have had the pleasure to be able to photograph bears from all over the U.S, including all over Alaska …… and I have been able to take some award winning Bear images from these travels ….. but I think that the Coastal Browns of Kodiak Island are among some of the best bear images that I have taken ….. so far. They are also some of the biggest bears that I have encountered. I have seen some that can be measured around 10 to 13 feet tall (when standing up) and the weight in the neighborhood of around 1200 pounds.

Focal Length: 800, F/Stop: 6.3, Exposure Time: 1/640

As a photographer I get to be able to have that freedom to be able to see them do what bears do ….. and I will tell you, as for me I think the bigger they are the funnier they get …… I mean ……c’mon …..bears are totally funny anyway doing nothing but laying down playing with there feet trying to get some sleep ….. just like a child …..know what I mean. When they get together sometimes and play with each other is the best …… then when the Salmon season is over and the smell of winter is in the air, thats when the fun stops ….. and bears just seem to be able to change their demeanor on a dime and be able to let the bear they just got through playing with 5 minutes back, have it with one sweep of that large paw of theirs.

Focal Length: 800, F/Stop: 9, Exposure Time: 1/500

The desire that I have to photograph bears is something that I have had ever since I became a photographer 25 years ago ….. and theres a place that is on my 2011 photography planner for me to go this year to photograph bears and that place is Kamchatka, Russia …….. http://englishrussia.com/index.php/2011/02/14/pure-nature-of-kamchatka/ I want to see the biggest Coastal Brown bears in the world and all the live volcanoes one would ever want to see. I also want to see some of the most beautiful, untouched wilderness in the world ….. But the bears are what I’m really wanting to see and photograph …. I will keep you posted on this adventure  ………..

