Focal Length: 400, F/Stop: 2.8, Exposure Time: 1/1,000, Time of Image: Thursday, April 22, 2010 9:08 AM

 

Yellowstone bears are not unfamiliar to me at all ….. after living here in Montana, near the park and photographing the park bears for 25 years and living in Alaska for the last 13 years, bears of any kind are not unfamiliar to me.  ……

Focal Length: 115, F/Stop: 4.5, Exposure Time: 1/30, Time of Image: Sunday, June 6, 2010 9:00 PM

 

I’ve studied bears all my life …… I know their habits, likes, dislikes, what they will tolerate and won’t tolerate and the coolest thing I know, is I have to figure each and everyone of them out, for they are all different from one another …… I know things about bears that 90% of the population doesn’t know ….I have had people witness things that I do with bears and things that have happened to me by bears. The same people still can’t believe that I can get away with what I do with bears……. Yet …… I’m still here.

Focal Length: 400, F/Stop: 2.8, Exposure Time: 1/125, Time of Image: Friday, June 25, 2010 5:28 AM

 

I think with all the bears that I have encountered,photographed and studied ….. Yellowstone bears, whether they are Black Bears or Grizzlies Bears, are the most mistreated bears on earth …. not by the tourists or the normal person …. they are mistreated by Game and fish and the biologist who pursue them, dart them, collar them, all in the name of research. After 56 years of research…how much, and what more can they learn about bears ….. and how much more torture should bears go through …..

Focal Length: 400, F/Stop: 2.8, Exposure Time: 1/200, Time of Image: Friday, June 25, 2010 4:52 AM

 

You’ll find that when you cross over into Canada, (mainly B.C.) and you see black bears or grizzly’s a long side the road or even out in the bush ….. most of them will leave the area and leave you a lone, ( and you’ll notice I said “MOST” ). But there is a few that won’t leave, but continue doing what they are doing, which makes for some great photographic images …. and it seems the further north you go towards Alaska, the more bears are not concerned with you at all …. the less populated the area is with people, the less afraid of people the bear is ……..

Focal Length: 400, F/Stop: 2.8, Exposure Time: 1/4,000, Time of Image: Sunday, June 27, 2010 5:41 AM

 

Bears to me is my life …. I live to be with and photograph bears …. it’s where I feel the most comfortable (other than my wife Donna). My wife Donna, if it wasn’t for her career, would be by my side photographing bears herself ….. and trust me … she gets out as much as she can doing just that …. being a photographer …. please visit her web site http://www.pic-clicker.com and see what you think. But I must say after being back here in Montana and going back to Yellowstone every weekend and some days during the week, I am really looking forward to getting back to Alaska where the Bears …….. are Bears

